ENOUGH WITH THE CHURCHyness

He said I had to lose my dreadlocks
said my clothes were too bright.
That only then, would The One open the locks,
the only way I’d be right.

So I wore the afro
and painted my wardrobe Grey.
Still, in came another, who said the heels had to go
or else I’d all but stand if the devourer came to prey.
Only then would The One open the locks,
only way I’d be right.

Now am walking on flip flops
lost my colored nail polish pots.
Am indeed less of me now, but nothing like Him.
Am left searching,
when He’s got all I want.
Seems all am doing is working,
but the work is already done.

So enough with ‘lose this, get that’
enough with wear this, no that
enough with say this, shun that
enough with the churchyness, just give me Christ.

2 thoughts on “ENOUGH WITH THE CHURCHyness

Leave a Reply

