Almost too good at it.

Days of playing house,
Weeks of acting
Two decades of practice
and finally,am almost too good at it.

Good at talking like mom
writing like Maya Angelou
walking like… i even forgot who i wanted to walk like
Good at being like everyone else
but me.

Two decades of practice
and finally,am almost too good at it.
Good at all the political correctness
The feigned politeness
eating cucumbers to appease the chef.
Wearing white to look churchy,
but deep down craving the color red.

See,
I hate cucumbers and a dozen other things i do
But most of all i hate not being me,
I prefer oranges,yellows and hot pinks to black
I’d rather wear snickers with a dress
than fall over on stilettos tryna impress.
But Two decades of practice,
an finally, am almost too good at it.

Leave a comment